5 Things #2

5 things that made me happy last week… #2

1. Four Weeks Into The New Year And This Is Only #2

This may seem a strange thing to be happy about. The original idea, (shamelessly stolen from Laura Kidd (She Makes War) who in turn borrowed it from James Whatley (whatleydude) and in turn from Hugh Garry  (I think that’s all the credits covered – again) was to post once a week – 5 things that made me happy last week. Since I started this back in 2012 I’ve written 10 posts, a little short of my target of one a week. This year started off with the same good intentions and, no surprise, here we are in the 4th week of January and only the second post. I’ve failed already! Or not?

I put myself under stupid, unrealistic pressure by setting targets I never meet. A blog post every day, 5 things every week, A photograph every day for a year (there is a pretty good chance that I might finish the last one, only 20 days to go and so far I haven’t missed a single day). I try to juggle so many balls between career and home that it’s only a matter of time before there’s too many on the go and I drop them. Once I’ve missed a couple of posts I give up – no point in carrying on if you don’t do it every week is there? Yes there is! Do it just because you want to! Do it because it makes you happy, do it because you feel like doing it. Do it just because you want to! This year I plan on giving myself a break and easing up on the self-imposed pressure. Once I’ve finished my Project 366 I’m going to be doing the things I want to when I want to, not because I have to.

2. One Little Word.

I came across this post on the Pastry Box Project – One Little Word, originally inspired by the Scrapbooker and Blogger Ali Edwards. The concept is to choose one little word at the beginning of the year that you can focus on, reflect on, introduce into your life, make it who you are or what you want to be and use it to help you get to where you want to be or what you want from life. I like the idea and I’m going to choose One Little Word for myself for 2014.

CHANGE

2014 is going to be a year of change, it needs to be a year of change. The last few months of 2013 saw a massive change in our lives when we moved to Oxford and this year will continue to change as we build our new lives in a new City. There are so many other things that I want to change and so many things I need to change to grow and finally get a handle on who I am and where I want to be in life. It’s going to be a challenging year and an exciting year and I’m looking forward to the changes ahead and one little word.

Change

3. Onion Ring Sunny-Side Up Eggs.

Onion Ring Sunny-side Up Eggs

(Image – Apron Strings)

I found this recipe for Onion Ring Sunny-Side Up Eggs on Apron Strings  it’s a simple idea, using the sautéed onion rings as a mould to cook the eggs in but it looks lovely and I can’t wait to try this for breakfast.

4. Getting Outdoors.

I took my post-Saturday night hangover and my camera out for a walk on Sunday. It’s so nice to be able to just go out without having to dress for muddy fields and just being able to walk around the locality or jump on a bus and go into town. I want to try some street photography this year, it was always difficult in the old house, mainly because there were no streets, or people, or pavements, or buses…. There are plenty of places to go and opportunities for photowalks so as quoted from The Oatmeal.

Log Out, Power Down and get that screen out of your face. Go Outdoors, experience the world. Right now.

Break

5. New Music

(One of) last weeks Bandcamp purchases.

The Delegators – All Aboard. 

The Delegators play rocksteady and early reggae, with hints of Motown and 60s soul.

The band features lead vocalist Janet Kumah, who commands an audience with her electrifying stage presence and gutsy vocal performance. Laying down a relentless groove behind her are a bunch of fine musicians, including Leon Vince, Adam Booty, Ramy Eissa and Arthur Béranger

The Delegators

Leave a Reply

