Project 366.

I’ve decided to do a 366 (I know it’s not a leap year, I’ll explain why it’s a 366 not a 365 later). It’s not the first time I’ve set out to document a year in photographs but in the past I’ve never made it much past the end of January before giving up so a little more thought, planning and perseverance is required this time.

Why a 366?

It’s important to have a purpose to a project of this size, it helps maintain motivation and focus when inspiration is hard to find. I decided to start the project on my birthday instead of the traditional January 1st. Next year is a milestone, a huge, worthy of a mid life crisis, oh god I’m old sort of milestone! Primarily I want to be able to look back on the last year of my 40’s and document day to day life. Most of the time I struggle to remember what I did yesterday so it will be nice to be able to look back on the year and add some detail to the memories.

I want to use my DSLR more. I find I need to push myself to take the Canon out with me now. I’ve become very reliant on my iphone, it’s the camera I always have with me, it’s small and easy to carry, it’s unobtrusive and a lot easier to take candid shots with than a DSLR and there’s a ton of apps that help to make even the most mundane detail look interesting.

I want to improve my photography. A project like this should take me out of my comfort zones. If I’m not going to end up taking (too many) filler shots then I’m going to have to get to know the DSLR and the iphone much better and practice new techniques or revisit some that I haven’t tried for a while.

I want to learn more about how to use Lightroom, I find it much easier than Photoshop but I’m still only using it for the basics there’s so much more it can do.

I want to learn more about how to use WordPress. I’ll post the photo’s on flickr but I’ll blog them as well which will give me an opportunity to be a little more adventurous with my blog.

There are some things I know will happen.

  • I will take photographs of things, places and people that I’ve photographed before. Hopefully they’ll be better than last time, or at least different.
  • I will take bad photos. There will be poor composition, boring subjects, blur and photographs taken just because I don’t want to miss a day that are throw away fillers
  • I will photograph food.
  • I will photograph my Cat. I’ll try to take interesting shots but he’s always a good source when inspiration is thin on the ground.
  • I will take a few (hopefully quite a few) photographs that I’m really pleased with.
  • I will have days when I can’t be bothered and will think about giving up and I’ll really need to push myself not to.
  • I will take photographs of toys and gadgets that clutter my life. Another ongoing project is to declutter my life. I hoard and have accumulated 49 years worth of tat and most of it needs to go. As I learn to let go of the past I’ll take photo’s to remind me of what has gone.
  • I will use my phone a lot but the iphone is a fantastic camera and there’s a lot of scope to improve my camera phone skills.
  • I will post late. I’ve promised myself that if I miss a day and don’t take a photograph I’ll be honest and resist any temptation to try to change dates but I won’t always upload on the day I’ve taken the shot. I hope there will be plenty of days I’m enjoying life way too much to want to sit on front of a computer or post on the go.

So that’s the plan. I’m on day 9 and although I still haven’t taken today’s photograph but I have a few ideas. There’s still a long way to go but I’m really looking forward to the challenge and maybe somewhere along the way I’ll end up looking forward to my Birthday next year instead of just feeling old.

366 Set on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

